Blog

All articles of Diane Joly

The Churches of the MRC of Brome-Missiquoi: The secret codes hidden in their ornaments
Art and Culture

When you take some time to observe the interior of churches you are, in fact, decoding some of the ideologies that support their decorating designs in their architecture, their adornments and their furnishings. In truth, the different denominations have developed,...

Read more
Diane Joly 03 July 2017

Brome-Missisquoi’s church steeples will certainly pique your curiosity!
Art and Culture

Home to several religious denominations, the churches and temples of the Brome-Missisquoi MRC, suggest you take on this stimulating observation activity if you’re interested in the following feature of their architecture: The church steeple. The steeple is an integral part...

Read more
Diane Joly 30 May 2017

The Catholic Churches of the MRC of Brome-Missisquoi: A Colourful Heritage
Art and Culture

The Catholic Church was introduced to North America during the French colonization. The faith’s premise brings Christians together in communion with the Pope and his bishops, perceived as the successors of Jesus Christ’s Apostles. Being liturgical, the Catholic denomination is...

Read more
Diane Joly 25 April 2017

The Anglican Churches of the Brome-Missisquoi MRC: a heritage adapted to its environment
Art and Culture

We can find an Anglican church in almost every town of the Brome-Missisquoi MRC. This denomination first came into existence with the reign of Henry VIII who proclaimed himself Supreme Head of the Church of England in 1563. Later, different views...

Read more
Diane Joly 09 March 2017

The Meeting House-Style Church: A Colonial Heritage
Art and Culture

 The development of the Eastern Townships began with the American Revolution and the arrival of the Loyalists. Among them many military families established themselves in the region as of 1775. Two years later, the British government promised these expatriated soldiers, 200...

Read more
Diane Joly 06 February 2017

We recommend »

Here are some suggestions to inspire you on your next visit to Brome-Missisquoi!

WOW Freli Alpagas

Frelighsburg

Livestock farming

Located on the southern side of Mont Pinacle in the Eastern Townships… [+]

Vignoble de la Bauge

Brigham

Vineyards

The Bauge vineyard continues to innovate with a new activity for wine… [+]

Auberge-Spa Le Madrigal

Bromont

Country Inns

The Madrigal's team welcomes you in a warm atmosphere. Our twelve rooms… [+]

Blogue

Ensemble des articles de Diane Joly

Les églises de la MRC Brome-Missisquoi : les codes secrets de leur décoration
Art et culture

Prendre le temps d’observer l’intérieur des églises c’est décoder les idéologies qui soutiennent leur conception de la décoration par l’architecture, l’ornementation et le mobilier. De fait, les confessions ont développé au cours des années des façons de faire qui permettent...

lire la suite
Diane Joly 03 juillet 2017

Des clochers d’église pour tous les goûts dans Brome-Missisquoi
Art et culture

Provenant de différentes confessions, les églises et les temples érigés sur le territoire de la MRC Brome-Missisquoi proposent une activité d’observation stimulante lorsque l’on s’intéresse à un aspect particulier de leur architecture : le clocher. Le clocher est une composante intégrale...

lire la suite
Diane Joly 30 mai 2017

Les églises catholiques de la MRC Brome-Missisquoi : un patrimoine haut en couleurs
Art et culture

L’Église catholique est introduite en Amérique du Nord pendant la colonisation française. Elle réunit les chrétiens en communion avec le pape et les évêques perçus comme les successeurs des apôtres de Jésus-Christ. Liturgique, le culte se résume en sept sacrements,...

lire la suite
Diane Joly 25 avril 2017

Les églises anglicanes de la MRC Brome-Missisquoi : un patrimoine adapté au milieu
Art et culture

Presque toutes les agglomérations de la MRC Brome-Missisquoi abritent une église anglicane. Cette confession apparait en Angleterre lorsqu’Henri VIII se proclame chef suprême de l’Église d’Angleterre en 1563. Par la suite, des visions différentes de la pratique amènent la fondation...

lire la suite
Diane Joly 09 mars 2017

L’église d’influence meeting house : un patrimoine de la colonisation
Art et culture

Le développement des Cantons-de-l’Est s’amorce avec la Révolution américaine qui amène des loyalistes, dont plusieurs militaires, à s’établir dans la région dès 1775. Deux ans plus tard, le gouvernement britannique promet aux soldats expatriés une terre de 200 acres s’ils...

lire la suite
Diane Joly 03 février 2017

Nous vous recommandons »

Voici quelques propositions pour vous inspirer lors de votre prochaine visite dans la région de Brome-Missisquoi!

Centre de santé Euro-Spa

Saint-Ignace-de-Stanbridge

Hôtels

Euro-Spa, destination santé/détente. La philosophie de l'hydrothérapie a été inspirée par les… [+]

Canoë & Co.

Sutton

Activités nautiques

Canoë & Co. est situé au cœur de la Vallée Missisquoi dans… [+]

La Brise du lac

Lac-Brome

Restaurants

Vous succomberez au restaurant La Brise du lac dont le décor lumineux… [+]