East Farnham is located in the region of Brome-Missisquoi between Cowansville and Brigham. This fertile plain consists of open land amidst a forest of high value. To its charm is added the oldest covered bridge in Brome-Missisquoi, the Freeport bridge, which crosses the Yamaska River, linking East Farnham to Cowansville.
After the native Americans, the first inhabitants of the region of East Farnham, once called Allen’s Corner, were American Quakers. Forced out of New England, they followed Loyalist and first pioneer Gideon Bull who arrived here in 1800. The Quaker families were the basis of the population of East Farnham. At the beginning of the 19th century this group became the most important Quaker community in Canada. Designated as a village in 1914, it became the Municipality of East Farnham in 2008 and is home to 540 people.
Thanks to its picturesque landscape, village center, its houses and stylish church, the few stores including Fil Amis quilt shop and workshop, the town of East Farnham will make you want to linger.
Its level terrain couples well with easy and pleasant bike paths for cyclists who choose discovery over a work out.
For more information: