he border village of Abercorn is particularly distinguished by its rich history, heritage and Loyalist cachet. Nearly 400 citizens currently love here.
After the era of American Indians and following the American War of Independence (1776-83), colonists fled the United States. England welcomed the Loyalists to its colony of Canada. Upon his arrival in 1797, Captain Thomas Shepard began construction of two mills, one on each side of the Sutton River and in 1848 the Shepard’s Mill hamlet became Abercorn, an old name of Scottish nobility.
Then came the era of Prohibition, from 1850 to 1920, both in Canada and in the United States but which lasted for only a few weeks in Quebec. Nestled along the US/Canada border, Abercorn made the most of the situation with its five hotels whose clientele were not only locals but also those of the neighboring states of New England, not to mention the trails that allowed smugglers to discreetly cross the border.
Agriculture, crafts and small businesses contributed to the development of this hamlet, and today we find baked goods from the Abercorn Bakery on the shelves of small and large stores throughout Brome-Missisquoi and the surrounding area.
Abercorn is a breathtaking view of the Sutton mountains and Mount Pinacle, it is the Sutton River, a tributary of the Missisquoi river, that flows through the village, it is the stunning scenery with ancestral homes and finally it is the will of the citizens to preserve their haven of peace and quiet.
Cyclists are among the visitors who opt for an excursion leading to this small town. The detour is worth it.